Dedicated firefighters and support staff honoured for almost seven centuries of combined service

  Publish Date:

Twenty six firefighters and members of support staff were toasted during the ceremony at Inverurie Town Hall.

Dedicated firefighters with almost 700 years of combined service to their communities have been honoured.

The 26-strong group were presented with Long Service Good Conduct medals and certificates during a ceremony at Inverurie Town Hall on Tuesday, November 20.

 Among those acknowledged were three firefighters who have helped protect their communities for four decades - each.

 Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Chief Officer Alasdair Hay and Board Member Marieke Dwarshuis presented the recipients with their medals as friends and family looked on with pride.

 Chief Officer Hay said: “These presentations provide us with a real opportunity to recognise the vital contribution of some of our longest-serving staff, whether they are frontline or support colleagues who work hard behind the scenes to keep our Service moving. 

“It is an honour and privilege for me to be able to meet and personally thank these committed individuals who together have achieved a total of 670 years of service, and who have dedicated so much of their lives to serving their communities.

“Our firefighters are clearly the very best of the best and continually demonstrate their unwavering commitment to helping to keep Scotland safe – and this is a real opportunity for me to personally thank them for that.

“I would also like to acknowledge all of the families and friends here this evening for we could not perform our unique role without their support - you are also part of our fire service family, and we also thank you.”

The full list of recipients is below:


40 years of service and long service and good conduct certificate recipients

  • Crew manager Gary Smith
  • Watch Manager Thomas Fleming
  • Watch Manager Alan Cruickshank


30 years of service and long service and good conduct certificate recipients:

  • Local Authority Liaison Officer Shona MacDonald
  • Firefighter (Community Safety Engagement) Neil Donald
  • Firefighter Graham Duguid
  • Firefighter Colin Gregor
  • Crew Manager Adrian Barron
  • Watch Manager Gareth Guy
  • Fleet Workshop Manager Anthony Whyte
  • Firefighter Frederick Sinclair
  • Watch Manager Robert Sturrock
  • Firefighter Stephen Williams
  • Station Manager Willie Chisolm


20 years of service and long service and good conduct medal recipients

  • Deputy Assistant Chief Officer David Farries
  • Firefighter Gary Collie
  • Crew Manager Michael McNab
  • Firefighter Scott MacAskill
  • Watch Manager Anthony Mitchell
  • Firefighter John Stronach
  • Firefighter Adrian McDonald
  • Station Manager (TED) Gary McArthur
  • Firefighter Michael Leitch
  • Watch Manager Michael Cassie
  • Group Manager Darren Riddell

Our Latest News