Firefighters and Staff recognised for combined 560-year service

  Publish Date:

A group of highly experienced firefighters and SFRS colleagues have been recognised for helping to protect communities – for a combined 560 years.

A total of 28 dedicated personnel were presented with Long Service Good Conduct medals and certificates during a ceremony at the SFRS’s West Service Delivery Area Headquarters in Hamilton on Tuesday.

Deputy Chief Officer Iain Bushell and SFRS Board member Sidney Patten presented the recipients with their medals as friends and family looked on with pride.

Following the presentation, DCO Bushell acknowledged their dedicated service and efforts to keeping people safe.

He said: “These presentations allow the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service to recognise the vital contribution of some of its longest-serving staff.

“I am not only pleased but honoured to be able to personally present these medals here today.

“They have dedicated their professional lives to helping to protect people and I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of the whole of the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service to thank them.

“I would also like to say a special thank you to the families and friends present here today. You have helped support our firefighters and colleagues throughout their careers and, for that, I extend my thanks – you are also part of our fire service family.

The firefighters and colleagues who received their Long Service Good Conduct awards were Operations Control firefighter Linda Anderson and support colleagues Francene McConnell and Catrina Jenkins.

And Group Managers James Quinn, Mark Gallacher and Joseph McKay and Station Managers Paul Tyrrell and David McGroarty also stepped up to receive their medals.

Also recognised were Watch Managers Brian McGuire, Andrew Crawford, Daniel Beattie and Anthony Cano alongside Crew Managers Gordon Craw, Sean Kersse, David Wood, William Carroll, David Brown and Craig Wilson.

Firefighters Richard Conaghan, Thomas Coombe, Mark Cannovan, Patrick Campbell, Simon Hart, John Lyle, Alan Bruce, Iain Ballantyne and Kevin Mitchell also received medals.

Our Latest News