SFRS welcomes 24 new wholetime firefighters

  Publish Date:

The trainees who were based in Aberdeenshire graduated today.

The Scottish Fire and Rescue Service has welcomed 24 new wholetime firefighters to its frontline.

Trainee firefighters based at Portlethen near Aberdeen recently graduated following an intensive 14-week training schedule where they learned key rescue skills.

And their hard work and effort was formally recognised at the Aberdeenshire training facility on Thursday, August 2.

They were given the opportunity to showcase their skills in a series of practical displays in front of families, friends and senior officers.

The firefighters now join 58 other trainees who recently graduated at Service’s National Training Centre in Cambuslang.

A further 21 based in Thornton, Fife will graduate on Friday, August 3.

This means an overall total of 103 trainees are now preparing to stand on the frontline to protect Scotland’s communities from next week.

Alasdair Hay is the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service’s Chief Officer.

He said: “These graduates are exceptional and among the most hardworking and committed of individuals – I’m thoroughly delighted to welcome them to the world’s fourth largest fire service.

“They’ve proved they have the ability, skill and determination across a tough 14 week schedule and today is clearly a special day not only for them but for their families.

“Being a firefighter is an extremely rewarding job and in my opinion the best job in the world.

“I wish all of the graduates the best for the future and hope they have a long and successful career in the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service.”

The graduates are: Campbell Aitken, Stuart Brunton, Duncan Buchan, Nigel Campbell, David Cartwright, Grzegorz Chrupcala, Anna Figurska, Scott Hare and Alastair Keeble.

They also included: Kevin Lindsay, Nicolle MacDonald, Stewart McIntosh, Ross McNee, Connor Middlemiss, Stewart Murdoch, Dean Peacock and Tanya Ross.

And the remainder were: Darren Ryan, Kevin Souter, Ryan Stuart, Ryan Teschner, Scott Thomson, John Tittley and Stuart Urquhart.

Our Latest News