SFRS firefighters and staff recognised for combined 400-year dedicated service

  Publish Date:

A group of experienced firefighters and Scottish Fire and Rescue Service colleagues with a combined 400 years of dedicated service have been recognised at a special award ceremony.

The 20-strong gathering was brought together at West Service Delivery Area Headquarters in Hamilton where they received Long Service Good Conduct medals.

The medals and certificates were presented by SFRS Deputy Chief Officer Iain Bushell and Deputy Assistant Chief Officer Peter Heath to acknowledge their 20-year commitment to communities.

Also in attendance at the event on Tuesday, April 10 was the Local Senior Officers across the West area.

The firefighters are based across Glasgow, West Dunbartonshire, East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Renfrewshire, North Lanarkshire and South Lanarkshire.

DCO Bushell said: “I am delighted to be here in Hamilton to present these Long Service and Good Conduct medals to some of our amazing staff in the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service.

“There is absolutely no doubt that every single one has earned this recognition – for their outstanding and exemplary conduct over the past 20 years and for their long and exemplary commitment to the service.

“Each and every one of them are the epitome of the Scottish Fire and Rescue spirit.  They have devoted themselves to keeping people safe.

 “Our firefighters are always prepared to go that extra mile to protect Scotland’s communities – however they are enabled by our dedicated support staff.

“Whether serving on the frontline, or working to support the service behind the scenes – all are equally deserving of these awards.”

The firefighters who received their Long Service and Good Conduct medals were: Group Managers Brian Winter and Martin Hill; Watch Managers Neil Gillespie, James, McNally, Stuart Clark, Ian Wilson, Scott MacMillan, David Hemple, Gordon Curran, David Agnew; Crew Managers Ross Watson and David Buick; fire fighters George McMillan, Andrew Mills, Paul Craig, Thomas Mitchell, Andrew Kane and Keith Allan; control fire fighter Iona MacAskill; and support staff member Allison Campbell.

Our Latest News