Scottish Fire and Rescue Service salutes 57 new graduate firefighters

Publish Date:

By Jamie Milligan


The Scottish Fire and Rescue Service today welcomed the latest additions to its firefighter ranks.

Fifty seven recruits graduated in front of proud family and friends during an emotional ceremony at the SFRS Headquarters in Cambuslang.

The delighted graduates were lauded by SFRS Chief Officer Martin Blunden before displaying a series of drills, showcasing what they’d learned during a gruelling 14-week training course.

Paying tribute to the commitment of Scotland’s new firefighters, Chief Officer Blunden said: “It fills me with immense pride to see these men and women graduate in front of their loved ones.

“Being here today means they have successfully completed an intense three-month training programme, which will have tested them both physically and mentally.

“This training regime is designed to ensure we have the very best people wearing the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service crest while protecting Scotland’s communities, so each and every one of today’s graduates has earned the right to hold their head high.”

Chief Officer Blunden added: “There is no doubt that this is an exciting time to be joining the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service, as we seek to broaden the role of firefighters to protect communities from new and emerging risks.

“Indeed, in the days, months and years to come, these men and women will play a vital role in helping to keep their communities safe.

“But, for now, I’d like to once again pass on my congratulations to all of our trainees and welcome them to theScottish Fire and Rescue Service family.

“Today is the fourth, and final, graduation ceremony of 2019.

“This year has seen 170 graduates join up with firefighter crews across Scotland.

“May I take this opportunity to wish each and everyone of them the very best as they continue their careers with the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service.”

The recruits applied after the Service launched its ‘Break the Mould’ campaign in April. It saw the overall number of applicants rise by almost 25 per cent - from 4,373 previously to a total of 6,075.

And this included 771 applications from women - compared to just 360 previously. More applications were also submitted by the LGBTQ+ and ethnic communities.

The 57 firefighters who graduated from the SFRS Headquarters are: Ryan Cordiner, Graham Fraser, Martin Ingram, Darren Morley, Kieran Oliveira, Ewan Urquhart, Lindsey Amato, Agata Brezinova, Barry Cameron, Pauline Cleary, Andrew Collins, Daniel Cook, Elli Dillon, Jason Feltham, William Findlay, Rebecca Ford, Cheryl Hogg, Alison MacVicar, Christopher Martin, Kieran McAnespie, Cheryl McCulloch, Brian McMahon, Steven Sharp, Derek Stewart, Michael Waddell, Andrew Watson, Brian Weber, Callum Black, Gregor Brown, Mark Brunton, Iain Campbell, Terence Corrieri, Cameron Cowie, Douglas Dawson, Devon Fox, Paulina Gapska, Matthew Gibb, Russell Graham, Darren Gray, Ross Hastie, Euan Jackson, Robbie Lockhart, Andrew McCulloch, John McGowan, Cari McIntyre, Steven McKenzie, Ross McKenzie, Hayley Moir, Benjamin Morrison, Daniel Paul, Dean Philip, Cameron Roberts,  Joseph Ryan, Sarah Scott, Lewis Stockman, Stephen Stuart and Abby Tiffney.

Meanwhile, the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service continues to recruit for retained and volunteer firefighters across Scotland, as well as positions for support staff.

For more information, visit: /work-with-us/current-vacancies.aspx



Note to editors: A full list of where each firefighter will be stationed by Local Senior Officer area is:

Glasgow : Lindsay Amato, Jason Feltham, William Findlay, Alison MacVicar, Kieran McAnespie, Cheryl McCulloch and Brian Weber

Argyll and Bute, East and West Dunbartonshire: Agatha Brezinova, Barry Cameron, Pauline Cleary, Rebecca Ford and Brian McMahon

Edinburgh: Callum Black, Gregor Brown, Mark Brunton, Paulina Gapska, Russell Graham, Ross Hastie, Cari McIntyre, Hayley Moir, Daniel Paul, Dean Philip, Cameron Roberts and Sarah Scott.

Fife : Douglas Dawson, Matthew Gibb, John McGowan and Ross Mckenzie.

Midlothian, East Lothian and the Scottish Borders: Cameron Cowie, Euan Jackson, Robbie Lockhart, Lewis Stockman and Stephen Stuart.

Stirling and Clackmannanshire: Iain Campbell, Terence Corrieri, Benjamin Morrison and Abby Tiffney.

Falkirk and West Lothian: Devon Fox, Darren Gray, Andrew McCulloch, Steven McKenzie and Joseph Ryan.

North Lanarkshire: Christopher Martin and Derek Stewart

South Lanarkshire: Stephen Sharp

East Renfrewshire, Renfrewshire and Inverclyde: Daniel Cook, Elli Dillon, Cheryl Hogg, Michael Waddell and Andrew Watson

Ayrshire: Andrew Collins 

Aberdeen City: Graham Fraser, Kieran Oliviera and Euan Urquhart

Aberdeenshire and Moray: Ryan Cordiner and Darren Morley

Highland: Martin Ingram