Dedicated firefighters and support staff honoured for almost seven centuries of combined service

Publish Date:

Twenty six firefighters and members of support staff were toasted during the ceremony at Inverurie Town Hall.



Dedicated firefighters with almost 700 years of combined service to their communities have been honoured.

The 26-strong group were presented with Long Service Good Conduct medals and certificates during a ceremony at Inverurie Town Hall on Tuesday, November 20.

 Among those acknowledged were three firefighters who have helped protect their communities for four decades - each.

 Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Chief Officer Alasdair Hay and Board Member Marieke Dwarshuis presented the recipients with their medals as friends and family looked on with pride.

 Chief Officer Hay said: “These presentations provide us with a real opportunity to recognise the vital contribution of some of our longest-serving staff, whether they are frontline or support colleagues who work hard behind the scenes to keep our Service moving. 

“It is an honour and privilege for me to be able to meet and personally thank these committed individuals who together have achieved a total of 670 years of service, and who have dedicated so much of their lives to serving their communities.

“Our firefighters are clearly the very best of the best and continually demonstrate their unwavering commitment to helping to keep Scotland safe – and this is a real opportunity for me to personally thank them for that.

“I would also like to acknowledge all of the families and friends here this evening for we could not perform our unique role without their support - you are also part of our fire service family, and we also thank you.”

The full list of recipients is below:


40 years of service and long service and good conduct certificate recipients

Crew manager Gary Smith

Watch Manager Thomas Fleming

Watch Manager Alan Cruickshank


 30 years of service and long service and good conduct certificate recipients:

Local Authority Liaison Officer Shona MacDonald

Firefighter (Community Safety Engagement) Neil Donald

Firefighter Graham Duguid

Firefighter Colin Gregor

Crew Manager Adrian Barron

Watch Manager Gareth Guy

Fleet Workshop Manager Anthony Whyte

Firefighter Frederick Sinclair

Watch Manager Robert Sturrock

Firefighter Stephen Williams

Station Manager Willie Chisolm


 20 years of service and long service and good conduct medal recipients

Deputy Assistant Chief Officer David Farries

Firefighter Gary Collie

Crew Manager Michael McNab

Firefighter Scott MacAskill

Watch Manager Anthony Mitchell

Firefighter John Stronach

Firefighter Adrian McDonald

Station Manager (TED) Gary McArthur

Firefighter Michael Leitch

Watch Manager Michael Cassie

Group Manager Darren Riddell