More than 1,000 years of combined service recognised

Publish Date:

_FSK0112 20 Yr Full Group


Dedicated firefighters with more than 1,000 years of combined service to their communities have been honoured.

More than 40 members of operational and support staff were presented with Long Service Good Conduct medals and Long Service Awards during a ceremony at Linlithgow Burgh Halls on Friday, November 23.

Among those acknowledged were four members of staff who have helped protect communities for more than 160 years between them.

Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Chief Officer Alasdair Hay and Chair of the Board Dr Kirsty Darwent attended and presented the recipients with their medals and certificates as friends and family looked on with pride.

Chief Officer Hay said: “It is always a privilege to attend these ceremonies, and it is my honour to be able to present not only our committed firefighters, but also our equally dedicated support staff and outstanding members of the public for their services to Scotland’s communities.

“I am delighted to be able to personally thank each of them, each of whom have dedicated so much of their lives to protecting the public.

“Our firefighters are clearly the very best of the best and continually demonstrate their unwavering commitment to helping to keep Scotland safe.

“I would also like to acknowledge all of the families and friends here today for we could not perform our unique role without their support - you are also part of our fire service family.”

The full list of recipients is below:


40 years of service long service certificate


Mr Derek Isles – Property Officer

Watch Manager Ronald McIntyre

Firefighter Robert Meechan

Watch Manager Heather Watt


 30 years of service long service certificate


Watch Manager Ian Aitken

Firefighter Margaret Brooks

Crew Manager David Brown

Firefighter Keith Buchan

Watch Manager Serena Ezzi

Group Manager David Girrity

Watch Manager Lynne Henderson

Watch Manager Graeme Kellie

Firefighter Lynne Lockhart

Firefighter William Neill

Watch Manager Bruce Nisbet (Retired)

Watch Manager Ian O'Hara

Watch Manager Douglas Pollock

Watch Manager May Watson

Firefighter John Young


 20 years of service and long service and good conduct certificate and award recipients


Station Manager Steven Bosworth

Crew Manager Mark Bramwell

Firefighter Richard Burnett (Retired)

Firefighter Denise Christie

Group Manager David Dourley

Group Manager Mark Duffy

Firefighter Graham Forsyth

Firefighter David German

Crew Manager Erick Hanley

Crew Manager Brian Harcus

Crew Manager Paul Harvey

Watch Manager Daniel Howie

Watch Manager Iain McGarry

Crew Manager Christopher McGready

Station Manager William Pollard

Firefighter Iain Porteous

Watch Manager David Scott

Area Manager Stuart Stevens

Firefighter Alexander Straith

Watch Manager Douglas Tait

Watch Manager Brian Todd

Firefighter Johanne Turnbull

Firefighter Graeme Whyte

Station Manager Lynne Gow

Paul Johnston – Resource Driver


Chief Officer Commendations


Operations Control firefighter Lynne Lockhart

Steven Dow – Member of Public