SFRS welcomes six new Board Members

Publish Date:

New board members, Aug 2018

The Scottish Fire and Rescue Service is delighted to introduce its newest Board Members.

The six new additions will join the SFRS Board in October, bringing with them a wealth of expertise and experience.

Brian Baverstock, Lesley Bloomer, Malcolm Payton, Mhairi Wylie, Nicholas Barr MBE and Tim Wright were this week all welcomed into their roles by SFRS Board Chair Dr Kirsty Darwent.

Dr Darwent outlined how they are joining the SFRS as the Service seeks to lead the way in the public sector by transforming to meet new risks.

She said: “I am delighted to welcome such a wealth of talent, experience and knowledge to the Board of the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service.

“Our new Board members join at a pivotal point in the Service’s history, which sees us transforming to do so much more for the people of Scotland.

“The Service has a proven track record of delivering public value and our Board will continue to play a role not only in governance, scrutiny and transparency, but will actively help to shape effective decision-making in the organisation.”

Community Safety Minister, Ash Denham MSP, also welcomed the new Board Members.

Ms Denham said: ‘‘I very much welcome these six new members to the SFRS Board and I am sure that SFRS will benefit hugely from their wide range of experience and expertise.”

She added: “I wish all the appointees well in their new posts."

Experienced accountant Brian Baverstock joins the Service with significant experience in working in public service reform.

Lesley Bloomer, Malcolm Payton and Mhairi Wylie also join with considerable experience in working across both the public and third sectors.

Former British Red Cross UK Director Nicholas Barr MBE has more than three decades of experience in working in operational and emergency service delivery.

Tim Wright is an experienced management consultant and brings with him vast experience from working in various senior roles.